Lithops Gallery – Turning a new leaf!

It is a bit of a quiet time for Lithops growers in the Southern-hemisphere.  Flowering has ceased and leaf renewal have started.  Not watering at this stage.  It is still too cold in my opinion for transplanting out seedlings, especially since I like  to transplant into a moist substrate to make it easier.  However, the change in leaves do pose some charm – seeing the fresh pristine leaves emerging and the anticipation to see which bodies will split into two.  There is also the disappointment of interesting markings one selected individuals disappearing with the renewal process.    For seedlings, I have learned that  in many cases only the second true leaves show the real texture of future adult leaves.    To calm idle hands, I captured some images in the greenhouse to showcase this phase of the Lithops growing cycle. Enjoy!

 

4 Comments

  1. I’m starting in sowing lithops seeds and I found your blog. I was looking for infos about how to grow them properly. Your blog is so nicely done and what about those wonderful pictures!! I hope you’ll add more to your blog, either photos or information. Thank you!

    Like

  2. So is it normal for lithops to split into two sets of leaves after a period? I recently had another lithops enthusiast tell me that this was from overwatering

    Like

Leave a comment